Creation of Madhepura Judgeship /Civil Court Madhepura

According to Saharsa Gazetteer, 1965, Saharsa formed part of Bhagalpur District till 1954, Madhepura was a sub-division in the jurisdiction of Bhagalpur district then it came under jurisdiction of the historical background of criminal justice will be found in the re-written District Gazetteer of Bhagalpur. There is no sub-ordinate judgeship formed in Madhepura District, but one is in the offing. The civil and criminal courts of this place were still within the Bhagalpur judgeship till 1954, the authority to exercise general control over the civil court along with establishment as to inspect the proceedings of the court of Bhagalpur.
The civil court of this district sub-ordinate to the District Judge of Bhagalpur comprised of one permanent Munsif court at Madhepura. The civil courts at Madhepura had jurisdiction over the entire area of Saharsa and Madhepura till 1954.
The exact year when the Munsif Court started functioning could not be ascertained. It may be inferred that the court might have started functioning soon after 1845 when Madhepura sub-division was formed. It transpires from the perusal of old records that the court of Munsif was previously functioning at Kishanganj and the Lieutenant Governor Ordered the transfer of the Kishanganj Munsif court to Madhepura vide letter no. 3959, from the Secretary to Government of Bengal, dated Fort William, the 19th June, 1865. The Judge of Bhagalpur, vide his letter no. 287, dated Bhagalpur, the 23rd December 1865, addressed to the Commissioner, Bhagalpur, requested for sanctioning a sum of Rs. 150/- for the erection of a Kutchery house at Madhepura for the Munsif of Kishanganj.

The sub-ordinate judges court at Madhepura was created vide Government Notification No. J-45/43-312-JR, dated 11th October, 1944 and it started functioning with effect from 1st November, 1944 with its jurisdiction over the then Madhepura and Supaul sub-division, its jurisdiction was extended to Saharsa sub-division when it was formed in 1954.

It is relevant to mention here that as a result of Kosi flood, the Court of the Munsif of Madhepura was shifted to Supaul with effect from 5th June, 1934 vide notification no. 813-2C-4-JR, dated the 28th May, 1934. The office of the sub-divisional officer of Madhepura was also shifted to Supaul in the same year. The office of sub-divisional officer of Madhepura at Supaul and the Court of Munsif were shifted back to Madhepura with effect from 1st July, 1938 vide letter no. IIJ-I-4234-R, dated 2nd June, 1938. The office of the sub-divisional officer, Supaul was shifted to Saharsa in 1940 and came back to Supaul in 1944. According to the pressure of work an Additional Munsif was occasionally posted at Madhepura to clear up the pending cases.

Madhepura was raised to the status of a district on dated 09.05.1981. Judgeship started functioning with effect from 06.12.1986 which was inaugurated by the- then Hon'ble Chief Justice Mr. S.S.Sandhwalia under the Chairmanship of Hon'ble Justice Mr. Prabha Shankar Mishra. The first District & Sessions Judge of this judgeship was Sri Jaleshwar Nath Dwivedi. The new Civil Court building has been constructed on bye-pass road ( N.H. 107 )and it was inaugurated on 6th November, 2004 by Hon'ble Acting Chief Justice Mr. Nagendra Rai. The Judicial Courts are being held in the new buildin

Court Building & Residential Accommodation:-

The court buildings are in three blocks. Two blocks are new building inaugurated on 06.11.2004 by Hon'ble Justice Mr. Nagendra Rai. The main building is of one storey. Part of main building situated on first floor is still to be constructed. Second block consists of five courts room in which Fast Track Courts have been accommodated. Main building and fast Track Court building are situated on bye-pass road ( N.H. 107 ) Madhepura. These blocks have no boundary wall and are open from all directions. Letters have been written to the concerned authorities for early construction of boundary wall with approach road. Third block is situated in the main town. This is old one and is used as the office of the Form and Stationery and the Record Room due to lack of any space and non construction of Record room with the new building. The offices of five fast track courts run in a single hall as no separate office for each fast track court is available.

Residential Accommodation for Judicial Officers:- There are19 quarters for judicial officers including residence of the District and Sessions Judge. The quarters of judicial officers are without boundary wall.

Residential Accommodation for Class III and Class IV Staffs:- There is only one quarter for Class III staffs and two quarters for class IV staffs.

Family Court & Fast Track Courts

Family Court:- A family Court was established here with effect from 01-07-2006. It is functioning in the new building, in which the Court and Office of the Chief Judicial Magistrate is functioning. Sri Bipin Dutta Pathak , an officer of the rank of District Judge, is the Principal Judge of that Court. A staff Car has already been purchased for the Presiding Officer of the Family Court. Telephone in his chamber & residence have been installed.But appointment for staffing the aforesaid court has not been done so far.

Fast Track Court:- At present five Fast Track Courts presided over by Sri Manoj Shankar,Sri C.S.Pradhan, Sri A.K.Srivastava, Sri U.C.Upadhyaya and Sri A.K.Jha are functioning here..But appointments for staffing the aforesaid court has not been done so far.

Hon'ble Inspecting Judge Visits Judgeship

(A group photo during the visit of Hon'ble Mr.Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi)

Hon'ble Mr.Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi,Inspecting Judge of Madhepura judgeship visited this judgeship on 16.03.2010.During this landmark visit his lordship allowed valuable time for inspection of Madhepura judgeship.During this auspicious occasion plantation of five trees was also performed.

Before this the detailed inspection of this judgeship by the team of Hon'ble High Court,Patna had also been done during last week of February 2010.

List of Officers posted in the Madhepura Judgeship(as on 07.07.2011)

List of Judicial Officers with their Designations,Date of Joining & Contact Numbers

Sr No.
Name & Designation

Sri Arun Kumar
Distt. & Sess.Judge

Sri P.K.Malik
Principal Judge, Family Court

Sri Ram Lakhan Yadav
1st Addl.Distt.&Sess.Judge

Sri Ashok Kumar Srivastava
A.D.J., Ad-hoc

Sri Manoj Shankar
A.D.J., Ad-hoc

Sri Anil Kumar Jha
A.D.J., Ad-hoc

Sri Yogesh Nr.Singh
A.D.J., Ad-hoc

Sri Anil Kumar Sinha

Sri Ram Surat
Sub Judge I

Sri Ved Prakash Singh
Judge III

Sri Dhaneshwar Ram

Sri Deepak Kumar I

Sri Avinash Sharma

Sri Avinash Kumar
Judicial Magistrate 1st Class

Sri Manoj Kumar
Judicial Magistrate 1st Class



Inauguration of Legal Aid-cum-Conciliation Centre,Madhepura

It was very auspicious day in the history of Civil Court, Madhepura when two hon'ble justices were present on the occasion of inauguration of Legal Aid-cum-Conciliation Centre,Madhepura under madhepura judgeship.Hon'ble Mr.Justice Shiva Kirti Singh inaugurated the centre in presence of Hon'ble Mr.Justice Kishore Kumar Mandal on 03.04.2010.
With this inauguration Madhepura became the 26th judgeship in Bihar having this centre.
Site created and maintained by Rakesh Singh, Madhepura. (updated on 01.03.2013)